View Full Version : [INFO]What can you edit and where?
Hi, this is meant to help everybody who wants to mod KoH on his own
Right now I'm working on diplomacy and I'm trying to make it deeper and extend it a bit (I surrendered adding new units after about 10attempts when the game didn't run even to intro :sad:)
defs.pak defs\Misc\conv_layout.in2
describes how diplomatical audience goes
defs\economy\units.xls
defs\economy\units.txt
defines unit stats (defense, attack, range, price, specials)
defs\Quests\questinfo.in2
defines peobability and effect of quests
defs\Quests\unite_england*.ini
definces kingdoms which can make quest, effect of quest etc.
*or Almohads, Aragon, Byzantia, Burgundy, France etc.
to make new quest - copy one of existing to original directory, rename it and define as you want
EDIT: most of other changes in defs.pak is added by Angryminer :go:
texts.pak
Texts\map\eu_realms.tsv
all kingdom and province names
Texts\map\eu_towns.tsv
all town names
Texts\knights\eu_knights.tsv
all king and knight names
Texts\knights\eu_titles.tsv
titles of kings and knights in game
Texts\map\kingdoms.tsv
all kingdom titles (Kingdom, Empire, Khanate, Sultanate, Republic etc.)
europe.pak
maps\europe\map\towns.ini
defines where town name differs from province name
maps\europe\map\units.xls
maps\europe\map\units.txt
holds kingdom special units, province local and province special units
maps\europe\map\vassals.ini
holds vassalage relations (vassal=overlord)
maps\europe\map\kingdoms_1000.ini
maps\europe\map\kingdoms_1200.ini
maps\europe\map\kingdoms_800.ini
Various: provinces, colours and banners, title, king title, capitals, relations among kingdoms
PS:800=early, 1000=high, 1200=late
maps\europe\map\kingdoms.ini
kingdom has to be listed here to be playable
maps\europe\politmap\kingdomnamepos0.in2
maps\europe\politmap\kingdomnamepos1.in2
maps\europe\politmap\kingdomnamepos2.in2
kingdom's name positions in starting map (kingdom selection)
PS: 0=early, 1=high, 2=late
maps\europe\kings\XXX*;YY**.txt
defines names of kings, queens princes and princesses, as well as king's and princes' skills
PS:*name of kingdom, **period: 800(early)/1000(high)/1200(late)
example: bohemia;1200.txt
when creating new kingdom - copy one of those existing files to original directory, rename it and define as you want
maps\europe\knights\regions_800.ini
maps\europe\knights\regions_1000.ini
maps\europe\knights\regions_1200.ini
religion of provinces(only if the religion is diferent than kingdom's), knight nationality of provinces
maps\europe\knights\moravian*.ini
holds names of knights, princes and princesses of certain nationality
*or also english, german, baltic, arabic etc.
when creating new nationality - copy one of those existing files to original directory, rename it and define as you want
PS: to create new kingdom you have to change all those files:
maps\europe\kings\bohemia;1200.txt - create new one
maps\europe\politmap\kingdomnamepos0.in2
maps\europe\politmap\kingdomnamepos1.in2
maps\europe\politmap\kingdomnamepos2.in2
maps\europe\map\kingdoms_1000.ini
maps\europe\map\kingdoms_1200.ini
maps\europe\map\kingdoms_800.ini
maps\europe\map\train_units.xls
maps\europe\map\train_units.txt
maps\europe\map\kingdoms.ini
Texts\knights\eu_knights.tsv
Texts\map\eu_realms.tsv
Texts\map\kingdoms.tsv
if it is somebody's vassal, then also:
maps\europe\map\vassals.ini
if you work on something, please share where you do changes...
The file extractor is called PakMan (http://forum.sunflowers.de/showthread.php?t=3255) and is made by Tempest
Angryminer
19-02-2005, 19:21
defs\economy\advantages.in2
Holds the boni for kingdom advantages.
defs\economy\ai_build.in2
Holds the list of constructions to build for the AI when at war
defs\Happiness\hconst.in2
Hold various informations about happyness. How long does nostalgy last? How high can war exhaustion raise? etc.
defs\Knights\educatecosts.in2
Holds the education cost for the knights except marshall.
defs\Knights\menu.in2
Holds the options that will be listed when a knight is clicked in the royal court.
defs\Knights\skills.in2
Holds the boni for marshallskills.
defs\Knights\spies.ini
Holds the chances of success for spy-missions.
defs\Misc\claim.in2
Holds the chances of claiming (or successfull claiming by player) when a king died.
defs\Misc\econst.in2
VARIOUS. Crusades, Excommunications, Jihads, Governor's boni, upkeep, relation changes, trade revenues, tax, kingdom-power costs and boni, ...
defs\Misc\morale.csv
Holds the morale modifiers in battle.
defs\Misc\personalities.in2
Holds the control-values for the WorldView AI.
defs\Rebels\rconst.in2
Holds information about rebels. When do rebels attack? When do local rebels become famous rebels? etc.
defs\religion\modifiers.in2
Holds the boni for religions. For example: Catholic kingdoms recieve 30% more money.
defs\difficulty.in2
Controls the possibility to attack the player at the different difficulty settings. Also controls some more AI behaviour.
Texts\economy\advantages.ini
Holds the descriptions for the advantages.
Texts\msg\ai_orders.ini
Holds the texts that appear above the AI armies when they recieve new commands by the AI.
Texts\msg\cross border.ini
Holds the texts that float above armies that cross province borders.
Texts\msg\spawn text.ini
Holds the texts that appear in a popup-windows when new rebels emerge.
Texts\msg\thoughts.ini
Holds the texts that float above rebel armies.
defs\Misc\religion.in2
Holds obsolete information about wonders. This feature is obviously not in KoH anymore and this file is useless.
I hope that helps :go: .
Angryminer
Kakita Matesu
20-02-2005, 12:14
defs\economy\buildings.in2
Holds all game's buildings. It contains settings as structure cost, requirement, what building produces and so on.
texts/economy/buildings.ini or buildings;2.ini
Holds buildings descriptions
Creating new building:
You need to modify following files: buildings.in2, buildings;2.ini and copy for example granary.bmp, granary_l.bmp, granary_s.rle
(EDIT by Elvain: you can find them in screens.pak: images\screens\PlayWnd\economy\icons\buildings\)
Rename .bmp and .rle as you want but it must be new building's name. In 'buildings.in2' create your dreamed structure and in 'building;2.ini' put description for it.
Creating new Battle Map(if someone doesn't know):
All you need to do it, is create in KoH directory 'map' folder. Then run game in debug mode, press F11, choose "Battle Map" option and have fun with editor. When work is done, save it and copy 'map' folder, for example, to 'maps\historical\'.
To load already existing map, find it 'map' folder, copy to KoH directory, run game in debug mode, go to editor and choose 'load' option twice. If you want to load europe map do the same. From now you can modify everything ;) Description for historical maps are in 'texts\historical maps\'
I don't know yet how to create new realm when creating 'world map', because every time when I had clicked on map to put there my new realm game crashed.
Kakita Matesu
20-02-2005, 14:26
do you think it is possible to change building tree this way? I'd like to make chainmail workshop an upgrade of armoury and plate armourer upgrade of chainmailworkshop, but I haven't found courage yet to try it...
if it is possible, just tell me, I'd do it myself :smile:
Yes it is possible. I know you could do it yourself but to answer this question I had to make what you want to make, so don't be angry but I give here solution too :)
buildings.in2:
[chain mail]
req = armory
override = armory
cost = 300s, 2000g
[plate armor]
req = armory, chain mail
override = chain mail
cost = 500s, 5000g
siegedefencebonus = 5
I also noticed that in images\screens\PlayWnd\economy\icons\buildings\ is one unused bmp file 'shields master', so maybe it's good idea to add it to the game.
Angryminer
23-02-2005, 21:30
I spend some thoughts on units...
1. If the folder defs\Units\Military exists, all necessary files have to be in there or the game will fail to start.
2. The file defs\Units\Military\army_units.in2 does not control the costs of hiring units, though it may look like that..
3. The file defs\Units\Military\Units.txt controls the unit's stats and values (needed buildings, needed money, morale-bonus, damage, etc. etc.)
4. The file defs\Units\Military\bonuses.ini controls the bonuses of for example spear versus cavalry.
5. The file defs\Units\Military\army_units.in2 reserves some unused unit types . For example:
[unit_45]
typeid = reserved
label = units;reserved
def_id =
add = 30
cost = 300g 200f
require =
I believe def_id to be the value that is called "UNIT ID" in defs\Units\Military\Units.txt. This should give us the possibility to add at least two own units (one with the label "reserved" and one with the label "rederved1"). Perhaps even more, but I don't know how much of this label-thing is hardcoded.
If someone tries around with this: Don't forget to mention the unit in Units.txt und give it it's own *.unit file.
It should also appear in a *.menu file to make it recruitable.
I hope this helps you. :go:
Angryminer
Kakita Matesu
24-02-2005, 21:56
Creating new unit - tutorial:
First copy and rename *.unit file for example 'vikings.unit' on 'my.unit'. Edit copied file and change names from 'vikings' to 'my'.
Don't touch paths from [images] section, because game will crush.
There is no need to change even path for [icons]. Next use 'search' option and find all files which contain name of unit your was based on ( in example all 'vikings*.*') without of course files from [images] and [icons] section. After that, copy, rename searched files and put them into right folders.
Also you need to edit 'TrainUnits.xls' to specify in which kingdom your unit can be recruit and 'Units.xls' for stats. In 'Units.in2' create requirements for unit. To add it's description, edit 'ui_help;01unitdescr.ini' and that should be all what must be done to play.
Have a nice creating.
Any question? Just write.
for all who want to change realms names or owners of provinces, I give you a map of all KoH provinces with their numbers and key names
the map (http://img193.echo.cx/img193/5025/realmsorig0bq.jpg)
I have a few question about unit editing
1. what do the "CTK ranged", "CTK melee"
2. Why do only some units have Dfnce(m,r) stats
3 under "range" there are 2 number what does each number mean.
Byzantian
02-07-2005, 12:54
Searched the forums and files but couldn't find this: where is the nostalgy remove cost described?
edit: found it on my in defs/Misc/econst.in2 :hello:
Yes it is possible. I know you could do it yourself but to answer this question I had to make what you want to make, so don't be angry but I give here solution too :)
buildings.in2:
[chain mail]
req = armory
override = armory
cost = 300s, 2000g
[plate armor]
req = armory, chain mail
override = chain mail
cost = 500s, 5000g
siegedefencebonus = 5
I also noticed that in images\screens\PlayWnd\economy\icons\buildings\ is one unused bmp file 'shields master', so maybe it's good idea to add it to the game.
I cant remover reqirement for any of the buildings because when i remove the requirement line game crash after spending 3 seconds in active game.
For example i did it like this:
[chain mail]
req = armory
override = armory
cost = 300s, 2000g
to
[chain mail]
override = armory
cost = 300s, 2000g
Angryminer
09-08-2005, 16:20
The override-line can only be used for upgrading buildings. Upgrading a non-existant building (read: no requirements) is not sensable. Thus the game crashes.
Angryminer
That means i need to delete both lines?Because i dont have that line in neither of this buildings:
[sheep farm]
cost = 200s, 800g
farms_bonus = 1f
group = 0
index = 10
[cattle farm]
cost = 200s, 1000g
produce = meat
base_bonus= 1f
group = 0
index = 11
[horse breed]
cost = 200s, 1000g
produce = horses
base_bonus = 1s
group = 0
index = 12
There was req = pasture in every building!
Angryminer
09-08-2005, 16:49
But these buildings (sheep farm, horse breed and cattle farm) don't override anything. They are built by clicking the icon with the locating defined by "group" and "index".
On the other hand, the chain mail workshop overrides the armory. It is not built by clicking it's icon in the build-tab, but by clicking the little upward pointing arrow in the icon of it's requirement. When no requirement is given and no icon is placed by the variables "group" and "index", it neither has an icon in the build-tab nor an arrow in the icon of it's requirement and is thus not a valid construction.
The chain mail workshop would be a valid construction if you define it as
[chain mail]
req = armory
cost = 300s, 2000g
index = *fill in the number for the military buildings-tab*
group = *fill in a free index number*
or, if you want to remove the requirement:
[chain mail]
cost = 300s, 2000g
index = *fill in the number for the military buildings-tab*
group = *fill in a free index number*
Angryminer
Sorry, maybe i am stupid but that is because i dont complety understand english so its hard to understand some things (i hope you understand me):
can you do one example of making this without requirement:
[sheep farm]
req = pasture
cost = 200s, 800g
farms_bonus = 1f
group = 0
index = 10
It seems to me that Angryminer confused you :wink:
[sheep farm]
cost = 200s, 800g
farms_bonus = 1f
group = 0
index = 10
and it should work. But in case of chain mail:
[chain mail]
req = armory
override = armory
cost = 300s, 2000g
because it overrides armoury, it must require an armory.Sheep farm doesnot override pasture, so you can remove the pasture as a requirement. If you still don't understand it, I could try to explain it in Serbian
you must do the same thing with every building that is upgrade of another building. You probablys made plate and scale armourer upgrades, so do the same I described with chain mail:
[scale armor]
req = armory, chain mail
override = chain mail
cost = 500s, 1500g
siegedefencebonus = 5
[plate armor]
req = armory, scale armor
override = scale armor
cost = 500s, 1500g
siegedefencebonus = 5
and with all buildings you made an upgrade of other buildings. If it fails, replace the file with the one from the .pak and start from begining
I understand that but how to remove requirement of buildings that are not overriding anything and requires exotic goods or somethin like peasture,fish,etc... :bash: :bash: :bash:Check above. Just remove req = XXX and that's it. But if your game still crashes, there might be something else causing it
Angryminer
13-08-2005, 22:04
Every town has 100 food storage plus bonuses from buildings.
Angryminer
Illuminatus!
14-08-2005, 22:16
maps\europe\politmap\kingdomnamepos0.in2
maps\europe\politmap\kingdomnamepos1.in2
maps\europe\politmap\kingdomnamepos2.in2
What do I do with these? I'm putting in a new kingdom in 800 by replacing another one, so I should only need to modify the kingdomnamepos0.in2 file, right? But how do I modify it? What information do I need?
My game won't even get to the intro screens... :bash: :bash: :bash:
I explaned how to edit kingdomnameetc. nicely here (http://forum.sunflowers.de/showpost.php?p=109856&postcount=4)
and if your game won't run, you messed up something, because it runs even without seting the kingdomname... file.
vBulletin v3.5.4, Copyright ©2000-2007, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.